Posted by: katemrdixon | December 24, 2011

Happy Christmas!

I am having a lovely Christmas because my humans decided that this year they would not do what they normally do, which is to pack the luggage and the presents and the kitty in the car and head down to Devon or Cornwall to spend Christmas with family.  This year for the first time ever they are spending it at home in London and Devon Grandma has come to spend it with us.  Which means I get to stay home and play in my garden and NO going in the car!

Devon Grandma hasn’t seen me since I was a kitten so she is impressed that I am a grown-up young lady cat now.  My humans decided to trust me and put the Christmas tree up this year.  I was VERY interested in pulling ornaments and tinsel off it for the first few days but the novelty has worn off now, so I am mostly leaving it alone…although I can’t resist playing with that red tinsel sometimes.  

My mum put tinsel on all the pictures on the walls and I have been trying REALLY hard to jump up and pull it off but it is just a bit too high!

Last Christmas when I was a kitten we had snow, but this year it is fairly mild so I have been playing in my garden a lot too.  In fact, tonight I had worn myself out playing in the garden so much that I slept all through dinner, even though the humans were having fish pie!  I think I have been a very Good Cat this year and deserve lots of treats from Santa, don’t you?  We posted off my Secret Paws package some time ago but haven’t heard from the recipient yet that it has arrived – I really hope it gets there OK.  It is going to another country, but still in Europe.  I haven’t had my Secret Paw package yet either but hopefully when the Christmas posts have sorted themselves out I will get something eventually.   Meanwhile, do you like the lovely Christmas decorations that Zoolatry did for my blog? Look on the right hand side, there is a memory ornament for Fat Eric too!

Hope you are all having a lovely time too.  My humans and I would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

Dora xxx

Responses

  1. Miss Dora, you have far more restraint than us! You have grown up indeed. We think your header and Eric’s ornament are both lovely. Enjoy your Christmas at home.
    Meowy Katmas from the Horde at the Katnip Lounge!

  2. How exciting that your Devon Grandma came to YOU instead! That is wonderful.

  3. Oh and Happy Christmas!!!

  4. Your header is very pretty, and what a lovely floofy tail you have. We wish you, your mum and dad and Devon Grandma a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

  5. Meowy Catmas to you, Dora! It sounds like you are having an exceptionally good holiday this year!

  6. Jiippiii! Kiitos sinulle! Me olemme todella iloinen! Ihanaa ja hauska lahjat. Kiitoksia!
    Many, many thanks – we are overjoyed with our secret paws package. It arrived a couple of days ago but we were not allowed to open it – it has been under the tree. And because Äiti is English, she said that most presents would be opened today according to her traditions. But it was worth waiting for – we loved it all and were at the toys straight away. There will be pictures on our blog later today. And Äiti is very pleased with the Simon’s Cat calendar and we will make sure it has all OUR important dates added to it.
    When Äiti picked up the package and saw your address she had to do a double take because many years ago she used to live not so far from you and knew your road as there were relatives nearby – it is a small world, she says.
    And we send your cordial Christmas wishes, from the real home of Santa Claus (we hope he visited you with many treats).
    With loud purrs of contentment,
    Punapippuri and Stran, Aila,Harris, Lewis, Tuomo, Mirsku, Pekka, Ruska, Rilli, Roosa, Risto, Jaava & Jura. And Äiti of course.

  7. Happy Christmas, Dora! And to your sweet Mom ~ and all your family; we’ve said a special prayer for an all time favorite kitty, Fat Eric… your
    wonderful, big and floofy angel brother!

  8. We hope you had a wonderful Christmas, Dora!

  9. Merry Christmas
    purrs
    >^,,^<
    ♥Abby♥Boo♥Ping♥Jinx♥Grace♥

  10. Wishing you all a furry Merry Christmas!!

  11. Merry Christmas!

    Hope you had a great day.

    Roxy & Lucky

  12. Merry Christmas Dora. We love the package you sent. The treats and toys will be played or eaten with real soon. Mum says she loves the calendar with the UK holidays on it. She says maybe she can get some extra days off from work.

    We had a good day. Lots of treat, ham, cuddles and play time.

    Ducky and Derby too, plus Mum!

  13. Merry Christmas! Hopefully you will receive your package soon. It is coming from Europe, but we don’t know how the posts work over there.

    Truffle and Brulee

  14. Belated Merry Christmas, Dora, to you and your family! Love your blog decorations and your tree. Our mom doesn’t do tinsel cuz we just can’t leave it alone either. Fat Eric’s ornament is lovely. We all miss him but look forward to hearing about beautiful you and your adventures.

    Lizzie & 3 kitties

  15. We hope your Christmas was wonderful.
    A big and warm hug.
    Marilia & Bavarescats

  16. I’m glad your Christmas was fun and exciting, with no car-trips. But you should watch out for the tinsel. That’s very toxic for cats if it’s chewed or swallowed. I don’t put any more on my tree now that I have cats.

    I hope your new year is good and bountiful, with plenty of sunspots to lie in!

  17. Sounds like you all had a lovely time. We love the Fat Eric remembrance ~ we miss him tons. xxx

  18. Merry Christmas Dora, How lovely for Devon Grandma to come to your house this year! Eric didn’t seem to mind going there too much, except he sure spent a lot of time behind the couch!
    We love your header and Eric’s memory ornament. We are happy you honored him, he was a dear and gentle cat.

  19. Hi, Dora, I hope you and your human family had a wonderful Christmas and have a Happy New Year as well. Your tree is beautiful. We just had 2 tiny trees that were quite boring.
    xoxo Kassey


Leave a Reply

Categories

